India vs Australia 3rd ODI: India Won the Series


Opener Rohit Sharma (119) hit a confident century while skipper Virat Kohli made 89 as India humbled Australia by seven wickets in the series-deciding third One Day International (ODI) to claim the series 2-1, at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru Sunday.

For India, Rohit Sharma drew first blood, smashing the bowlers right from the start and cruised to his century quite comfortably. Rohit was also named Man of the Match for his brilliant 119 that included 8 fours and 6 sixes.

Virat Kohli, too, jumped into the party with his 89 off 91 balls that included 8 fours. Kohli relied mostly on singles but accelerated after his fifty, however, failed to connect on a Yorker delivery and missed his century. Kohli was also given Man of the Series award.

India vs Australia

Australia cricket team captain Aaron Finch won the toss and elected to bat first. The visitors didn’t start well as David Warner was sent back into the pavilion early, and as the Aussies were on the course to stabilise the innings, they suffered another jolt as Finch had to depart after being runout following a mix-up with Steve Smith.

Steve Smith, however, went on to slam a century, hitting 131 in 132 balls, including 14 fours and a six. Apart from Smith, young Marnus Labuschagne (54) and Alex Carey (35) made significant contributions to take Australia to 286/9 in 50 overs.

IND vs AUS Playing XI

India playing 11: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Shreyas Iyer, K L Rahul (w), Manish Pandey, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah

Australia playing 11: David Warner, Aaron Finch(c), Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Alex Carey(w), Ashton Turner, Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here